## BASTROP-TRAVIS COUNTIES EMERGENCY SERVICES DISTRICT NO. 1 SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

June 30, 2023

A special meeting of the Board of Commissioners of Bastrop-Travis Counties Emergency Services District No. 1 was held on **Friday, June 30, 2023, at 6:30 p.m.**, at the Elgin Fire Station, located at 111 N. Avenue C, Elgin, Texas.

Attending the meeting were Commissioners Larry Moseley, Matt Benson, Darren Mogonye, and Tommy McCullough. Commissioner Crim was absent. A quorum was present at the meeting. Also present were ESD staff members, representatives of the Fire Department, and representatives of the First Responder Unit.

- 1. <u>Pledge of Allegiance</u>: Pledge of Allegiance led by Commissioner Moseley
- 2. <u>Call meeting to order</u>: Meeting called to order by Board President Commissioner Moseley at 18:30.
- 3. **Public Comment**: None.
- 4. **Public Comment on Agenda Items**: None.

## **DISCUSSION/ACTION ITEMS**

5. Discuss and take action on posting for the Fire Chief position:

President Moseley entered into executive session at 18:32 to discuss personnel matters. The board reconvened to regular session at 19:08. No action was taken during executive session.

A motion was made by Commissioner Mogonye to offer interviews to a minimum of two or more candidates from the current list of applicants and, if there aren't enough, we will repost the position. Second by: Commissioner Benson

Vote: Commissioners Benson, Mogonye, McCullough all voting yes, Commissioner Moseley votes no, Motion carried 3-1.

6. <u>Discuss agenda items, time, and date for next meeting</u>: A motion was made by Commissioner McCullough and Seconded by Commissioner Moseley to adjourn at 19:10. Motion carried 4-0.

/s/ Matt Benson

Matt Benson, Secretary Board of Commissioners

July 18, 2023